Are androgens the sole problem?

Discuss proven and experimental available hair loss solutions: minoxidil, finasteride, concealers, etc.
ItSucks
Hair Loss Newbie
Hair Loss Newbie
Norwood: NW2
Regimen: Finasteride, ru58841

Are androgens the sole problem?

Post by ItSucks » 7 months ago

Hi everyone,

I wasn't sure if this is the right section to post this in. I am relatively new to the hairloss prevention scene.

But what I don't understand is that if androgens are the sole reason behind genetic androgenic alopecia then how come ru58841 (which supposedly blocks both t and dht from reaching the hair follicles) isn't widely used? Surely if you are a good responder to it then (in theory) you should be able to maintain everything that you have.

Afro_Vacancy
Hair Loss Guru
Hair Loss Guru
Norwood: NW2
Regimen: 1 ml of 5% liquid minoxidil, includes ~20 mg of RU58841 58841; nizoral 3x/week, dermarolling (1.5 mm) 1x/week

Re: Are androgens the sole problem?

Post by Afro_Vacancy » 7 months ago

ItSucks wrote:
7 months ago
Hi everyone,

I wasn't sure if this is the right section to post this in. I am relatively new to the hairloss prevention scene.

But what I don't understand is that if androgens are the sole reason behind genetic androgenic alopecia then how come ru58841 (which supposedly blocks both t and dht from reaching the hair follicles) isn't widely used? Surely if you are a good responder to it then (in theory) you should be able to maintain everything that you have.
The company that was developing RU58841 dropped it in the 1990s because they believed that it would not make a lot of money. The studies showed that it was only comparable to minoxidil, not better. People are as such reluctant to use it because it had not been backed by as much experience. There are four studies on RU58841, none lasting more than a year.